Rudolf Schmied

Visual Flashback Artist I

27 November 2014 to 27 May 2015

“I first found myself in an analogous black-and-white darkroom, which was in my parents’ bathroom, at the age of 16, excited to observe a picture slowly emerging on a piece of white photographic paper. I was fascinated by the development process.”

The format, the picture frame, all the technology was too stringent for me, too standardised. I cast aside the straightjacket of the industrially produced photographic papers, liberated myself of all the constraints and started experimenting.”

The “visual flashback” process is what photographer Rudolf Schmied calls the photo creation process he developed. In an era characterised by rushing about, a shortage of time, and above all in a time of digital photoshopping, the self-proclaimed visual flashback artist is returning to the roots of photography – to the analogous darkroom. In a time-intensive preparation process, Rudolf Schmied first of all creates his own surface (canvass or wood) onto which he then pours, paints and smears liquid photo emulsion. Then, in a passionate handcrafted process, an original image is created on this canvass or this piece of wood, the uniqueness of which is impressive.

For further information, please visit: www.visualflashback.at  

Share this page

Art & Lifestyle

Rudolf Schmied

Visual Flashback Artist I

27. November 2014 bis 27. Mai 2015

„Ich stand mit 16 Jahren zum ersten Mal in der analogen Schwarz-Weiß-Dunkelkammer, damals noch im Badezimmer meiner Eltern, und beobachtete gespannt, wie auf einem weißen Fotopapier langsam ein Bild entstand. Der Entwicklungsprozess faszinierte mich."

Das Format, der Bildrahmen, all die Technik war mir zu streng, zu genormt. Ich legte die Zwangsjacke der industriell gefertigten Fotopapiere ab, befreite mich von allen Zwängen und begann zu experimentieren.“

„Visual Flashback“- Verfahren nennt der Fotograf Rudolf Schmied seinen selbst entwickelten Bildentstehungsprozess. Ausgerechnet in einer Zeit der Beschleunigung, der Zeitknappheit, aber vor allem in einer Zeit der digitalen Photoshop-Bildnachbearbeitung geht der selbsternannte Visual Flashback Artist zurück zu den Anfängen der Fotografie – in die analoge Dunkelkammer. In einem zeitintensiven Vorbereitungsprozess stellt Rudolf Schmied zunächst seine eigene Oberfläche (Leinwand oder Holz) her, die er danach mit flüssiger Fotoemulsion beschüttet, bepinselt und beschmiert. Auf dieser Leinwand oder diesem Holzstück entsteht danach, in leidenschaftlicher Handarbeit, ein Originalbild, das durch seine Einzigartigkeit beeindruckt.

weitere Informationen finden Sie auch unter www.visualflashback.at

Seite teilen

Kunst & Lifestyle